Law Schools Worldwide

PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification

Ph.D. in Law

Yale Law School · New Haven, Connecticut, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Ph.D. in Law
Subject
Legal theory
Format
On campus
Price
Not published

About this program

Doctoral programme for JD graduates aimed at legal scholars and teachers, producing a body of academic research under a three-member faculty dissertation committee.

School and department
Yale Law School
Subject or specialization
Legal theoryRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Ph.D. in Law
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation

    Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordNew England Commission of Higher EducationAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 12/01/1929

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Yale University (IPEDS ID 130794); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
Not published
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Teaching location
Main campus127 Wall Street

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Required
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

Designed for J.D. graduates.

Stated audience: Law graduates, Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction