Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Juris Doctor
Yale Law School · New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- $79,318per year, 2026-27
About this program
Yale Law School JD, one of five degree-granting programs; joint degrees are conferred with other Yale graduate programs.
- School and department
- Yale Law School
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordNew England Commission of Higher EducationAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 12/01/1929
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Yale University (IPEDS ID 130794); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Main campus127 Wall Street
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition, basic budget for the nine-month 2026-2027 academic yearTuition · mandatory | $79,318per year, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalTuition · mandatory | $76,636per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| University Administrative & Activities Fee, 2026-2027Mandatory fee · mandatory | $2,500per year, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
| Annual fees, 1L full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory | $2,325per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)