Master’s in legal studies · Standalone law qualification
Online Master of Legal Studies (MLS)
Vanderbilt Law School · Online · provider based in United States
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Subject
- General law, Compliance & regulationPart time, Flexible
- Format
- Fully onlineThe program can be completed in under two years.
- Price
- $59,640whole program, as published 2026-11-01
About this program
Online part-time MLS for non-lawyers covering contracts, employment law, regulation, property, torts and the legal system, with an optional short course on the Nashville campus.
- School and department
- Vanderbilt Law School
- Subject or specialization
- General law, Compliance & regulationRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s in legal studies
- Purpose
- Designed for nonlawyersDesigned for people who do not intend to practise law, as the provider describes it.
- Exact award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on CollegesAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1895
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Vanderbilt University (IPEDS ID 221999); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- The program can be completed in under two years.
- Delivery
- Fully onlineTaught entirely online. Remote teaching is not professional recognition: check whether any in-person assessment is required and whether the relevant regulator accepts online study.
- Physical attendance
- No physical attendance required (verified)
- Where students can enrol
- Not stated on the pages we checkedThe institution is based in United States; eligibility to enrol may differ.
- Live or recorded
- Live and asynchronous
- Schedule
- Part time, FlexibleClasses taken one at a time; most content asynchronous with biweekly class sessions.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not required (stated)
No GRE or minimum GPA required.
Stated audience: Nonlawyers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- January 11, 2027 · deadline November 30, 2026 · open
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total program tuitionTuition · mandatory | $59,640whole program, as published 2026-11-01 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)