PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.)
University of Virginia School of Law · Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.)
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate for aspiring legal academics involving a first-year study plan and a faculty-supervised dissertation making an original contribution to legal scholarship; open to UVA LL.M. students and graduates and strong LL.M. graduates of other US schools.
- School and department
- University of Virginia School of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on CollegesAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1904
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Virginia-Main Campus (IPEDS ID 234076); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Charlottesville campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Current students and graduates of the UVA LL.M., or LL.M. graduates with high academic standing from another leading US law school.
Stated audience: Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Project or capstone
- Dissertation
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)