Other law master’s degrees · Standalone law qualification
School of Legal and Political Studies, Master's Program (law)
The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of Law · Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master's degree in law or political science
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campusat least two years in residence
- Price
- ¥535,800per year, 2026-27
About this program
Research-oriented master's program at the Graduate Schools for Law and Politics for future legal or political science researchers; admission examinations can be taken in positive law or comparative, historical and theoretical studies of law.
- School and department
- The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of LawGraduate Schools for Law and Politics, Faculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- Not published
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Other law master’s degrees
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Master's degree in law or political science
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- at least two years in residence
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Hongo Campus7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Master's tuition (admission April 2026)Tuition · mandatory | ¥535,800per year, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Course credits, a master's thesis and a final comprehensive examination.
- Project or capstone
- Master's thesis
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)