PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
School of Legal and Political Studies, Doctoral Program (law)
The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of Law · Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Doctoral degree in law or political science
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campusat least three years in residence
- Price
- ¥520,800per year, 2026-27
About this program
Doctoral program at the Graduate Schools for Law and Politics in law or political science, centred on a doctoral thesis under faculty supervision.
- School and department
- The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of LawGraduate Schools for Law and Politics, Faculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- Not published
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctoral degree in law or political science
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- at least three years in residence
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Hongo Campus7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Doctoral tuition (admission April 2026)Tuition · mandatory | ¥520,800per year, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Course credits, doctoral thesis and final comprehensive examination.
- Project or capstone
- Doctoral thesis
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)