Law Schools Worldwide

Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification

School of Law (Juris Doctor)

The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of Law · Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Juris Doctor
Subject
General law
Format
On campus
Price
Not published

About this program

The Graduate Schools for Law and Politics' School of Law is a professional graduate law program granting the Juris Doctor degree; Japanese ability is required.

School and department
The University of Tokyo, Graduate Schools for Law and Politics / Faculty of LawGraduate Schools for Law and Politics, Faculty of Law
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
Japanese

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Juris Doctor
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
Not published
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Teaching location
Hongo Campus7-3-1 Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-0033

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply
Language requirements
Very high ability in Japanese (reading, writing, discussion) required.
Enrolment restrictions
No special admission system for international students in the School of Law.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction