Law Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s in legal studies · Law concentration within a broader degree

BA with Law

University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg · Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
BA with Law
Subject
General lawFull time
Format
On campus3 years full-time
Price
Not published

Law concentration within a broader degree

A broader degree with a formally named law major, concentration or track. The full official title is shown. A business degree with one law module is not listed. Evidence on the official page: Listed on the School of Law undergraduate programmes page as a law-specific three-year BA that is a possible gateway to the LLB.

About this program

Three-year humanities degree combining general law subjects with other humanities disciplines; the page describes it as a possible gateway to the LLB.

School and department
University of the Witwatersrand, JohannesburgSchool of Law
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Bachelor’s in legal studies
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
BA with Law
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
3 years full-time
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full time
Teaching location
Wits Braamfontein campus

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction