Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Juris Doctor (J.D.)
The University of Texas School of Law (Texas Law) · Austin, Texas, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General lawFull time
- Format
- On campusthree-year
- Price
- $38,236per year, 2025-26
About this program
Three-year JD program with a foundational first year and elective second and third years.
- School and department
- The University of Texas School of Law (Texas Law)
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on CollegesAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1901
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, The University of Texas at Austin (IPEDS ID 228778); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- three-year
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Teaching location
- Austin campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $38,236per year, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $56,822per year, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)