Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Law (J.D.)
Knudson School of Law, University of South Dakota · Vermillion, South Dakota, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General lawFull time
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- $12,076per year, 2025-26
About this program
JD program at the University of South Dakota law school, with optional concurrent degrees with other disciplines.
- School and department
- Knudson School of Law, University of South Dakota
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of South Dakota (IPEDS ID 219471); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Teaching location
- Vermillion campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Recommended
Page mentions LSAT, GRE or JD Next scores as application options; not stated as strictly required.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $12,076per year, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $32,184per year, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per credit) part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $402per credit, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per credit) part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $1,072per credit, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Annual fees, 1L full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory | $5,037per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Annual fees, 1L part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory | $4,193per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)