Law Schools Worldwide

LLB and first law degrees · Standalone law qualification

Bachelor of Laws [LLB]

University of Pretoria · Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa

Applications closed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Bachelor of Laws [also known as LLB]
Subject
General lawFull time
Format
On campusMinimum 4 years, full-time
Price
Not published

About this program

Four-year undergraduate law degree at the University of Pretoria, with alternative routes via a three-year BA or BCom specialising in Law followed by a two-year LLB, or via a prior degree.

School and department
University of PretoriaFaculty of Law
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
LLB and first law degrees
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Bachelor of Laws [also known as LLB]
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
Minimum 4 years, full-time
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full time
Teaching location
Hatfield Campus, Law Building

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
Academic requirements
National Senior Certificate or IEB with English at the stated achievement level and an APS of 35 for the 2027 intake.
International applicants
Not confirmed

Intakes and deadlines

  • 2027 intake · deadline 30 June 2026 · closed · this date has passed; check the current cycle

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction