Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Juris Doctor
University of New South Wales · Kensington, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General lawFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campus3 years
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Three-year graduate-entry law degree for students with a prior non-law degree or an overseas law degree, taught in small seminar-style classes at Kensington.
- School and department
- University of New South WalesUNSW Law & Justice
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordLegal Profession Admission Board (NSW)Program approval
Scope: Listed against "LLB or JD" in the Board table of accredited academic courses for New South Wales admission; the table is not program-specific beyond that wording.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 3 years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeFull-time or part-time study load that can be adjusted term to term; weekend, evening and summer intensive courses are available.
- Teaching location
- Kensington
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
A completed tertiary qualification (Bachelor, Masters or PhD) in a discipline other than law, or a law degree from an overseas institution.
Stated audience: Graduates of any discipline, Internationally trained lawyers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- Academic requirements
- Entry based on academic merit; domestic applicants apply for Commonwealth Supported or full-fee places via UAC.
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)