LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification
LL.M. in Patent Law
University of Minnesota Law School · Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- LL.M. in Patent Law
- Subject
- IP lawFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusone year full-time; part-time in as little as two years, up to three
- Price
- Not published
About this program
One-year LL.M. for holders of a US JD, combining patent law with project-based learning about business strategy; students build a portfolio including a drafted patent application and licensing agreement.
- School and department
- University of Minnesota Law School
- Subject or specialization
- IP lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- LLM and Master of Laws
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- LL.M. in Patent Law
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (IPEDS ID 174066); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- one year full-time; part-time in as little as two years, up to three
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part time
- Teaching location
- Main campus229 19th Avenue South
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
A J.D. from an American law school; a technical degree is helpful but not required.
Stated audience: Law graduates. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)