Law Schools Worldwide

LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification

LLM

University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States

Upcoming intake

Award
Master of Laws
Subject
General law
Format
On campusone-year; starts at the end of August and ends by mid-May
Price
Not published

About this program

One-year LLM for people trained in law anywhere in the world, covering comparative study, US law, specialization and advanced research.

School and department
University of Michigan Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
LLM and Master of Laws
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Master of Laws
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation

    Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (IPEDS ID 170976); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
one-year; starts at the end of August and ends by mid-May
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Teaching location
Main campus625 South State Street

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Required
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

A first professional degree in law is required; students in the final year of legal studies may apply.

Stated audience: Law graduates. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

Academic requirements
First professional degree in law; applications via LSAC LLM Credential Assembly Service.
International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply
Official instructions
Application instructions

Intakes and deadlines

  • August 2027 (2027-28 academic year) · deadline January 15, 2027 · upcoming

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
LSAC CAS Report fee per application (LLM)Application fee · mandatory$38one-time, 2026-27All students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
LSAC Electronic Application Service fee required of LLM applicants (valid for the admission cycle)Application fee · mandatory$45one-time, 2026-27All students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
LSAC Electronic Application Service fee required of LLM applicants (valid for the admission cycle)Application fee · mandatory$45one-time, 2026-27All students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, schedule.

Sources and how this was checked