Law Schools Worldwide

Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification

Juris Doctor

University of Michigan Law School · Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Award
Juris Doctor
Subject
General law
Format
On campusthree-year program
Price
$39,919per term, 2026-27

About this program

Three-year Juris Doctor with a first-year foundation and advanced coursework, clinics and writing in later years; 18 dual-degree programs with ten graduate schools and departments are listed.

School and department
University of Michigan Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Juris Doctor
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation

    Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (IPEDS ID 170976); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
three-year program
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Teaching location
Main campus625 South State Street

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
International applicants
Not confirmed
Official instructions
Application instructions

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition, full-time students, per semester, residentTuition · mandatory$39,919per term, 2026-27In-state residents1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition, full-time students, per semester, non-residentTuition · mandatory$41,419per term, 2026-27Out-of-state students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition and Fees line of the 2026-27 estimated cost of attendance (eight months), residentTuition · mandatory$80,381per year, 2026-27In-state residents1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition and Fees line of the 2026-27 estimated cost of attendance (eight months), residentTuition · mandatory$80,381per year, 2026-27In-state residents1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Tuition and Fees line of the 2026-27 estimated cost of attendance (eight months), non-residentTuition · mandatory$83,381per year, 2026-27Out-of-state students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory$76,108per year, 2025-26In-state residents1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory$79,108per year, 2025-26Out-of-state students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.
Annual fees, 1L full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory$572per year, 2025-26All students1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
First year is an introduction to writing, advocacy and analysis; second and third years allow advanced classes, seminars, clinical work and writing projects.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked