Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
J.D. Program
University of Houston Law Center · Houston, Texas, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- $31,326per year, 2025-26
About this program
The Law Center JD program with full-time and part-time evening options.
- School and department
- University of Houston Law Center
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordSouthern Association of Colleges and Schools, Commission on CollegesAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1954
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Houston (IPEDS ID 225511); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- University of Houston Law Center
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $31,326per year, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per annual) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $46,051per year, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per annual) part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $21,221per year, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per annual) part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $31,196per year, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per credit) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), ResidentTuition · mandatory | $1,011per credit, 2025-26 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| 1L tuition (per credit) full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Non-ResidentTuition · mandatory | $1,486per credit, 2025-26 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Tuition and fees combined, JD full-time, Entering Fall 2026, resident, academic year (31 hours)Mandatory fee · mandatory | $36,721.68per year, 2026-27 | In-state residents | 1 November 2026Source |
| Tuition and fees combined, JD full-time, Entering Fall 2026, non-resident, academic year (31 hours)Mandatory fee · mandatory | $52,159.68per year, 2026-27 | Out-of-state students | 1 November 2026Source |
| Annual fees, 1L full-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory | $7,896per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Annual fees, 1L part-time (ABA Standard 509 report 2025-2026), Resident and Non-Resident columns identicalMandatory fee · mandatory | $6,448per year, 2025-26 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)