Professional legal training · Standalone law qualification
Postgraduate Certificate in Laws (PCLL)
Postgraduate Certificate in Laws
The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Postgraduate Certificate in Laws (PCLL)
- Subject
- Legal practiceFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusFull-time: normally one year; part-time: normally two years
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Professional legal training course in Hong Kong covering practice areas, lawyering skills and professional ethics; offered full-time over one year or part-time over two years.
- School and department
- The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- Legal practiceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Professional legal training
- Purpose
- Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
- Exact award
- Postgraduate Certificate in Laws (PCLL)
- Credential type
- Credential not statedThe official page does not say what credential is awarded.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full-time: normally one year; part-time: normally two years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeFull-time one year from September; part-time two years with evening classes
- Teaching location
- HKU Centennial CampusPokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Aimed at those who have completed an LLB or equivalent legal studies.
Stated audience: Law graduates. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time (self-funded) programme fee, tentativeMandatory fee · mandatory | HK$232,000whole program, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Compulsory core practice areas, elective practice areas and pervasive subjects including professional practice and management.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)