LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification
Master of Laws (LLM)
The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Master of Laws
- Subject
- General lawFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusFull-time 1 year; part-time 2 years
- Price
- HK$270,000per year, 2027-28
About this program
A one-year full-time or two-year part-time LLM at HKU, with a general stream and specialisations such as competition law and maritime law.
- School and department
- The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- LLM and Master of Laws
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Master of Laws
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full-time 1 year; part-time 2 years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part time
- Teaching location
- HKU Centennial CampusPokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
First law degree (LLB) with at least second class honours or equivalent; some specialisations also admit non-law graduates with two years of relevant experience.
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
- Language requirements
- IELTS Academic overall 7.0 with no subtest below 5.5 where degree not taught in English.
Intakes and deadlines
- September 2027 · deadline December 4, 2026 (main round) · open
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)