Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Juris Doctor (JD)
The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General lawFull time
- Format
- On campususually two years
- Price
- HK$299,000per year, 2026-27
About this program
A two-year graduate-entry law degree at the University of Hong Kong with core common-law subjects, a capstone requirement and electives.
- School and department
- The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- usually two years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Core courses (84 credits), a capstone course (clinic, dissertation or mooting) and electives.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
- Teaching location
- HKU Centennial CampusPokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Recommended
Degree with at least second class honours (upper division) or equivalent; LSAT, GRE or GMAT encouraged, not mandatory.
- Academic requirements
- Degree with at least second class honours (upper division) or equivalent.
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
- Language requirements
- IELTS Academic overall 7.5 with no band below 7.0, for applicants whose degree was not taught in English.
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| JD tuition feeTuition · mandatory | HK$299,000per year, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Core common-law subjects, one capstone course and electives.
- Project or capstone
- One of Clinical Legal Education, Public Interest Clinic, Dissertation or International Mooting.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)