PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Law
The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Law
- Subject
- General lawFull time
- Format
- On campusFull-time: 3 years or 4 years
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in law at HKU, completed under faculty supervision with research-methodology coursework; the Faculty's major research areas are listed on its site.
- School and department
- The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Law
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full-time: 3 years or 4 years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full timeFull-time: 3 years or 4 years
- Teaching location
- HKU Centennial CampusPokfulam Road, Hong Kong
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
An LLB or equivalent with honours plus a research master's in law (3-year route), or an LLB with a taught master's or first-class honours (4-year route).
- Academic requirements
- LLB or equivalent with honours; English test (TOEFL or IELTS) preferred for applicants from non-English-medium institutions.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- 2027-28 academic year admission · deadline 15 November 2026 (HKT 23:59, GMT+8) · open
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Candidates complete 1 compulsory and 2 elective research-methodology courses alongside the thesis.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)