Law Schools Worldwide

PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification

Doctor of Legal Science (SJD)

The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Applications closed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Doctor of Legal Science (SJD)
Subject
General lawFull time
Format
On campusFull-time: 4 years
Price
Not published

About this program

Structured doctoral research programme combining master's-level courses with a 50,000-60,000 word dissertation. The page says it is not open for 2027-28 applications.

School and department
The University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Doctor of Legal Science (SJD)
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
Full-time: 4 years
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full timeFull-time: 4 years
Teaching location
HKU Centennial CampusPokfulam Road, Hong Kong

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Required
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

LLB with honours plus a taught master's in law, or LLB with first class honours.

International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
Students take research-methodology and master's-level elective courses, then write a dissertation of 50,000-60,000 words.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction