Law Schools Worldwide

Postgraduate diploma or conversion program · Standalone law qualification

Diploma in Professional Legal Practice

Edinburgh Law School, University of Edinburgh · Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom

Applications closed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Diploma in Professional Legal Practice
Subject
Legal practiceFull time, Part time
Format
On campusFull-time: Nine months (two semesters); part-time: 18 months over two years
Price
Not published

About this program

Practice-focused diploma described by the school as a bridge between a law degree and legal practice.

School and department
Edinburgh Law School, University of EdinburghEdinburgh Law School
Subject or specialization
Legal practiceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Postgraduate diploma or conversion program
Purpose
Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
Exact award
Diploma in Professional Legal Practice
Credential type
Academic award (non-degree)A certificate or diploma issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Stated by the providerLaw Society of ScotlandProgram approval

    Scope not stated in the source.

Structure and schedule

Duration
Full-time: Nine months (two semesters); part-time: 18 months over two years
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full time, Part time
Teaching location
Edinburgh Law School

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
International applicants
Not confirmed

Intakes and deadlines

  • 07 September 2026 · closed · this date has passed; check the current cycle

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction