Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification
Online Hybrid Juris Doctor
University of Dayton School of Law · Dayton, Ohio, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Juris Doctor
- Subject
- General lawPart time, Cohort-based
- Format
- Online with required campus attendancetakes less than four years to complete (44 months)
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Part-time J.D. with weekly live online classes, asynchronous coursework and four required weekend on-campus intensives in Dayton, Ohio.
- School and department
- University of Dayton School of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
- Purpose
- Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
- Exact award
- Juris Doctor
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Stated by the providerAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: Online Hybrid J.D. (school-stated; variance approval May 2018)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1928
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Dayton (IPEDS ID 202480); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- takes less than four years to complete (44 months)
- Delivery
- Online with required campus attendanceMostly remote study with mandatory campus attendance or residencies, as the provider describes them.
- Physical attendance
- Periodic residencies requiredRequired in-person time: Four on-campus Get REAL intensives, each a weekend, covering orientation, experiential learning and bar preparation.
- Live or recorded
- Live and asynchronous
- Schedule
- Part time, Cohort-basedDesigned so students can work full time; new terms start in August, January and May.
- Weekly commitment
- 15–30 total hours per week
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Four Get REAL on-campus intensives; externship or clinic; capstone.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
- Credits
- 90 US semester creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Teaching location
- University of Dayton School of LawKeller Hall, 300 College Park, Dayton, OH 45469-2760
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Same course content as the on-campus J.D., delivered through live online classes, recorded lectures and in-person intensives.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)