Law Schools Worldwide

Master’s in legal studies · Standalone law qualification

Master of Legal Studies (MLS)

University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, Illinois, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Master of Legal Studies (MLS)
Subject
Legal theory
Format
On campusone-year; 27 credit hours
Price
Not published

About this program

One-year non-JD degree for PhD students and established scholars who want legal training for their research; 27 credit hours chosen with a faculty advisor.

School and department
University of Chicago Law School
Subject or specialization
Legal theoryRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Master’s in legal studies
Purpose
Designed for nonlawyersDesigned for people who do not intend to practise law, as the provider describes it.
Exact award
Master of Legal Studies (MLS)
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Chicago (IPEDS ID 144050); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
one-year; 27 credit hours
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
In residence like JD students.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
Teaching location
Hyde Park campus1111 East 60th Street

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

Stated audience: Researchers, Nonlawyers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Funding

  • MLS tuition scholarship Scholarship

    Guaranteed for eligible students · full tuition charges covered and competitive stipends for living expenses

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction