Law Schools Worldwide

LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification

Master of Laws (LLM)

University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, Illinois, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageOfficial AdmissionsRequest Information
Award
Master of Laws (LLM)
Subject
General lawFull time
Format
On campus27 course hours over three quarters; full-time on campus; start only in Autumn Quarter (September)
Price
Not published

About this program

General one-year, on-campus LLM with no required courses, letting students build an individual programme alongside JD students; no dissertation required.

School and department
University of Chicago Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
LLM and Master of Laws
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Master of Laws (LLM)
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Chicago (IPEDS ID 144050); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
27 course hours over three quarters; full-time on campus; start only in Autumn Quarter (September)
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full time
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
No specific required courses and no dissertation or major paper requirement.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
Teaching location
Hyde Park campus1111 East 60th Street

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Required
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

A first degree in law completed by enrolment in September; English proficiency test (TOEFL or IELTS) for non-native speakers.

Stated audience: Law graduates, Internationally trained lawyers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

Academic requirements
First degree in law completed by September enrolment.
International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply
Language requirements
TOEFL or IELTS required for applicants whose native language is not English (TOEFL iBT at least 104 stated).
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
Individualised course selection; students often combine corporate, IP, antitrust or commercial law with legal theory, law and economics and comparative law; some LLM-only courses cover New York bar exam subjects.
Project or capstone
No dissertation or major paper requirement

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked