Law Schools Worldwide

PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification

Doctor of Jurisprudence (J.S.D.)

University of Chicago Law School · Chicago, Illinois, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Doctor of Jurisprudence (J.S.D.)
Subject
General law
Format
On campusdissertation completed within five years of first registration; at least two years (six academic quarters) in residence
Price
Not published

About this program

Research doctorate requiring a dissertation supervised by two faculty members, with at least two years in residence in Chicago; the Doctor of Comparative Law is awarded on the same requirements at the student's option.

School and department
University of Chicago Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Doctor of Jurisprudence (J.S.D.)
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordHigher Learning CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 01/01/1913

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Chicago (IPEDS ID 144050); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
dissertation completed within five years of first registration; at least two years (six academic quarters) in residence
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Not published
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
Dissertation making a creditable contribution to legal scholarship, supervised by at least two faculty members; residence in Chicago.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
Teaching location
Hyde Park campus1111 East 60th Street

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

Stated audience: Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Funding

  • JSD living-expense fellowship Grant

    Basis not stated · $20,000 fellowships for living expenses and free personal health insurance for each of the first two years in residence

    Source

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Project or capstone
Dissertation

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked