Law Schools Worldwide

Postgraduate diploma or conversion program · Standalone law qualification

Graduate Diploma in Law (SCG003)

University of Canberra · Online · provider based in Australia

Upcoming intake

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Graduate Diploma in Law
Subject
General law
Format
Fully online1.4 years
Price
Not published

About this program

Postgraduate law program for graduates of non-law disciplines made of two foundation units and six electives; the page states it is not itself a qualification to practise and describes a transition to the Juris Doctor.

School and department
University of CanberraCanberra Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Postgraduate diploma or conversion program
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Graduate Diploma in Law
Credential type
Academic award (non-degree)A certificate or diploma issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
1.4 years
Delivery
Fully onlineTaught entirely online. Remote teaching is not professional recognition: check whether any in-person assessment is required and whether the relevant regulator accepts online study.
Physical attendance
Attendance requirement not verified
Where students can enrol
Not stated on the pages we checkedThe institution is based in Australia; eligibility to enrol may differ.
Live or recorded
Live or asynchronous not confirmed
Schedule
Not published
Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
Two foundation units and six electives.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
Credits
24 UC credit pointsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not required (stated)
Prior degree
Required
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

Undergraduate degree in a non-law discipline with GPA of at least 5/7.

Stated audience: Graduates of any discipline. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

Academic requirements
Undergraduate degree in any non-law discipline, GPA at least 5/7.
International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply
Language requirements
IELTS Academic 6.5 overall, no band below 6.0 (or equivalent).

Intakes and deadlines

  • Study Block 1 2027 · open
  • Study Block 3 2027 · open
  • Study Block 5 2027 · open

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Curriculum
Foundation law units and electives such as business law and public policy streams.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, schedule.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction