PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
LW951 - Doctor of Philosophy in Law (Ph.D)
Universiti Teknologi MARA Faculty of Law · Shah Alam, Malaysia
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Law (Ph.D)
- Subject
- General lawFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campusFull Time: 3 years (minimum) – 5 years (maximum); Part Time: 6 yrs
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Research doctorate in law with a thesis of up to 100,000 words and viva voce; indicative research areas include IP, IT, maritime, constitutional and family law.
- School and department
- Universiti Teknologi MARA Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Law (Ph.D)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Full Time: 3 years (minimum) – 5 years (maximum); Part Time: 6 yrs
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part timeFull time: 3 years minimum to 5 years maximum; part time: 6 years
- Teaching location
- UiTM Shah Alam Campus (Faculty of Law)Faculty of Law, Universiti Teknologi MARA, 40450 Shah Alam, Selangor
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
A recognised master's degree in law with CGPA of at least 3.00 or equivalent, plus a written research proposal.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Thesis not exceeding 100,000 words and a viva voce.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)