Master’s in legal studies · Standalone law qualification
Master of Legal Studies
UCLA School of Law · Los Angeles, California, United States
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- Hybrid
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Graduate legal education degree for professionals who do not intend to become practising lawyers, offered in online, hybrid or on-campus formats.
- School and department
- UCLA School of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s in legal studies
- Purpose
- Designed for nonlawyersDesigned for people who do not intend to practise law, as the provider describes it.
- Exact award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordWASC Senior College and University CommissionAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 02/28/1949
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of California-Los Angeles (IPEDS ID 110662); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- HybridPart online and part in person. A hybrid program is never described as fully online; required campus time is shown.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Live or recorded
- Live or asynchronous not confirmed
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Main campusCharles E Young Drive East
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Stated audience: Working professionals, Nonlawyers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- Fall 2027 admission · open
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, duration, schedule.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)