PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD)
Suffolk University Law School · Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Doctor of Juridical Science
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- $2,770per credit, 2026-27
About this program
Research doctorate culminating in a publication-quality dissertation.
- School and department
- Suffolk University Law School
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctor of Juridical Science
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordNew England Commission of Higher EducationAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 12/01/1952
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Suffolk University (IPEDS ID 168005); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Suffolk Law School
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Page states prior completion of a JD and LLM.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| LL.M. and SJD tuitionTuition · mandatory | $2,770per credit, 2026-27 | All students | 1 November 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)