Master’s in legal studies · Standalone law qualification
Master of Legal Studies (MLS)
Stanford Law School · Stanford, California, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Nonprofessional degree for advanced graduate students with no prior legal training whose interdisciplinary research requires knowledge of the legal system; very few are admitted.
- School and department
- Stanford Law School
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s in legal studies
- Purpose
- Designed for nonlawyersDesigned for people who do not intend to practise law, as the provider describes it.
- Exact award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation
Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordWASC Senior College and University CommissionAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 02/28/1949
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Stanford University (IPEDS ID 243744); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Attendance requirement not verified
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- Main campus559 Nathan Abbott Way
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not required (stated)
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Designed for advanced graduate students with no prior legal training.
Stated audience: Nonlawyers, Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)