Law Schools Worldwide

PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification

Doctor of the Science of Law (JSD)

Stanford Law School · Stanford, California, United States

Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Doctor of the Science of Law
Subject
General law
Format
On campus
Price
Not published

About this program

Most advanced law degree at Stanford, a doctorate culminating in a dissertation under a faculty committee, for scholars and teachers of law.

School and department
Stanford Law School
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Doctor of the Science of Law
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar Association Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the BarAccreditation

    Scope: J.D. degree (first degree in law)

  • Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval

    Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)

  • Verified in official recordWASC Senior College and University CommissionAccreditation

    Reference: Accredited since 02/28/1949

    Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Stanford University (IPEDS ID 243744); the law school is part of it

Structure and schedule

Duration
Not published
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Attendance requirement not verified
Schedule
Not published
Teaching location
Main campus559 Nathan Abbott Way

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Required
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

JD or LL.B earned outside the United States; admitted via SPILS or an LLM.

Stated audience: Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.

International applicants
Not confirmed

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Curriculum, assessment and projects

As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.

Project or capstone
Dissertation under a faculty committee

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.

Sources and how this was checked