Master’s in legal studies · Standalone law qualification
Master of Legal Studies
S.J. Quinney College of Law, University of Utah · Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Subject
- General lawFull time
- Format
- On campusthree-semester
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Three-semester, 30-credit program for people without prior legal training.
- School and department
- S.J. Quinney College of Law, University of Utah
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Master’s in legal studies
- Purpose
- Designed for nonlawyersDesigned for people who do not intend to practise law, as the provider describes it.
- Exact award
- Master of Legal Studies
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordNorthwest Commission on Colleges and UniversitiesAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 04/01/1933
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, University of Utah (IPEDS ID 230764); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- three-semester
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Teaching location
- Salt Lake City campus
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not required (stated)
- Prior degree
- Required
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Undergraduate degree required, no prior legal training.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)