LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification
Master of Laws (LLM) by thesis
Rhodes University · Makhanda, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- LLM
- Subject
- General lawFull time, Part time
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Research-only LLM at Rhodes University law faculty, available full-time or part-time.
- School and department
- Rhodes UniversityFaculty of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- LLM and Master of Laws
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- LLM
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time, Part time
- Teaching location
- Rhodes University
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
LLB with an average of at least 65%; the Dean may consider others with a strong motivation.
- Academic requirements
- Updated CV, degree certificates, full transcripts and a draft 3-5 page research proposal sent to the Dean of Law.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Project or capstone
- Thesis.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, duration, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)