Law Schools Worldwide

Postgraduate diploma or conversion program · Standalone law qualification

Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law (Part-Time)

Osgoode Hall Law School, York University · Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Upcoming intake

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law
Subject
General law, Comparative lawPart time
Format
Hybrid16 months (four terms)
Price
CA$10,098whole program, Fall 2027 entry term

About this program

Graduate diploma introducing Canadian private and public law, legal writing and research, with electives drawn from the Professional LLM; page notes internationally trained lawyers may use electives toward NCA subject requirements.

School and department
Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
Subject or specialization
General law, Comparative lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Postgraduate diploma or conversion program
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law
Credential type
Academic award (non-degree)A certificate or diploma issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
Academic credit
Credit-bearing
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
16 months (four terms)
Delivery
HybridPart online and part in person. A hybrid program is never described as fully online; required campus time is shown.
Physical attendance
Attendance requirement not verified
Live or recorded
Live or asynchronous not confirmed
Schedule
Part time
Teaching location
Osgoode Hall Law School (York University)

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Not stated
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated
International applicants
Not confirmed

Intakes and deadlines

  • Fall 2027 · deadline Final deadline May 1, 2027 · open

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Domestic (Ontario) total for 4 termsTuition · mandatoryCA$10,098whole program, Fall 2027 entry termDomestic students1 November 2026Source
International total for 4 termsTuition · mandatoryCA$20,636.72whole program, Fall 2027 entry termInternational students1 November 2026Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: prerequisites.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction