Postgraduate diploma or conversion program · Standalone law qualification
Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law (Full-Time)
Osgoode Hall Law School, York University · Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law
- Subject
- General law, Comparative lawFull time
- Format
- On campus8 months (two terms)
- Price
- CA$10,098whole program, Winter 2027 entry term
About this program
Graduate diploma introducing Canadian private and public law, legal writing and research, with electives drawn from the Professional LLM; page notes internationally trained lawyers may use electives toward NCA subject requirements.
- School and department
- Osgoode Hall Law School, York University
- Subject or specialization
- General law, Comparative lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Postgraduate diploma or conversion program
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Graduate Diploma in Foundations of Canadian Law
- Credential type
- Academic award (non-degree)A certificate or diploma issued by an academic institution, shown with its credit status.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- 8 months (two terms)
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full time
- Teaching location
- Osgoode Hall Law School (York University)
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Law degree from outside Canada required for the full-time version.
- Academic requirements
- Law degree from outside Canada (LLB or equivalent); preference for at least two years of legal practice or law-related experience.
- International applicants
- The provider states that international students may apply
Intakes and deadlines
- Winter 2027 · closedApplications closed; late applications by contact
- Winter 2028 · upcoming
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Domestic (Ontario) total for 2 termsTuition · mandatory | CA$10,098whole program, Winter 2027 entry term | Domestic students | 1 November 2026Source |
| International total for 2 termsTuition · mandatory | CA$20,636.74whole program, Winter 2027 entry term | International students | 1 November 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)