PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates · Standalone law qualification
Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD)
New York University School of Law · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
Currently offered, next intake unconfirmed
- Award
- Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD)
- Subject
- General law
- Format
- On campus
- Price
- Not published
About this program
NYU's most advanced law degree, giving intensive research training aimed at an academic career; the page says only a very small number of students are admitted.
- School and department
- New York University School of Law
- Subject or specialization
- General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- PhD, SJD/JSD and research doctorates
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- Doctor of Juridical Science (JSD)
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Scope: J.D. program (Council-approved law school)
Verified in official recordMiddle States Commission on Higher EducationAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 07/01/1921
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, New York University (IPEDS ID 193900); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Not published
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Not published
- Teaching location
- NYU School of Law
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Stated audience: Researchers. Audience tags are recorded only where the official page says who the program is for.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites, duration, schedule, dated intake or deadline.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)