Professional legal training · Standalone law qualification
Two-Year Programme
Norman Manley Law School · Kingston, Jamaica
Upcoming intake
- Award
- Legal Education Certificate
- Subject
- Legal practiceFull time
- Format
- On campusTwo academic years
- Price
- JMD 1,549,026per year, 2026-27
About this program
Full-time professional legal training over two academic years, combining substantive and procedural law with advocacy, drafting, ethics and supervised clinical work.
- School and department
- Norman Manley Law SchoolCouncil of Legal Education
- Subject or specialization
- Legal practiceRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- Professional legal training
- Purpose
- Part of a professional legal qualification pathwayIntended by the provider as a step toward a professional legal qualification. Whether it actually qualifies a graduate to practice depends on the jurisdiction and its regulator.
- Exact award
- Legal Education Certificate
- Credential type
- Professional credentialA credential issued by a named professional or regulatory body. Check separately which authority recognises it, and where.
- Academic credit
- Credit status not stated
- Awarding institution
- Council of Legal Education
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- Two academic years
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Physical attendance
- Regular physical attendance
- Schedule
- Full timeFull-time, two academic years
- Teaching location
- Norman Manley Law SchoolP.O. Box 231, Mona, Kingston 7, Jamaica
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Required
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
Entry route for UWI LLB holders is via the online admissions portal; applicants with other law degrees go through a pre-application assessed by the Admissions Board.
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
- Enrolment restrictions
- Applicants are zoned by territory of ordinary residence.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Intakes and deadlines
- 2027-2028 academic year · deadline Applications close 31 January 2027 · open
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Year I tuition, Jamaican studentsTuition · mandatory | JMD 1,549,026per year, 2026-27 | Domestic students | 1 November 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)