LLM and Master of Laws · Standalone law qualification
Executive LL.M.
Columbia Law School · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
Upcoming intake
- Award
- LL.M.
- Subject
- Commercial law, Corporate lawCohort-based
- Format
- Online with required campus attendanceonline spring and fall semesters with an on-campus summer residency; degrees awarded in October
- Price
- Not published
About this program
Hybrid LL.M. in global business law combining online semesters with an intensive 12-week summer residency in New York, designed to minimise time away from home and work.
- School and department
- Columbia Law School
- Subject or specialization
- Commercial law, Corporate lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
- Teaching language
- English
Qualification and recognition
- Qualification
- LLM and Master of Laws
- Purpose
- Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
- Exact award
- LL.M.
- Credential type
- DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing
- Awarding institution
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- Access and price model
- PaidPaid enrolment.
Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.
Verified in official recordAmerican Bar AssociationProgram approval
Reference: Listed on the ABA Council-Approved Law Schools list (alphabetical); year in parentheses is the year approved as printed by the ABA
Scope: J.D. program (J.D. degree-granting law school approved by the Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar)
Verified in official recordMiddle States Commission on Higher EducationAccreditation
Reference: Accredited since 07/01/1921
Scope: Institutional accreditation of the parent institution, Columbia University in the City of New York (IPEDS ID 190150); the law school is part of it
Structure and schedule
- Duration
- online spring and fall semesters with an on-campus summer residency; degrees awarded in October
- Delivery
- Online with required campus attendanceMostly remote study with mandatory campus attendance or residencies, as the provider describes them.
- Physical attendance
- Periodic residencies requiredRequired in-person time: Intensive on-campus summer residency (12 weeks); the 2027 cohort residency runs May 21 - August 13, 2027.
- Live or recorded
- Live and asynchronous
- Schedule
- Cohort-based
- Required components (internships, residencies, exams, visits)
- Introduction to American Law for students without a US law degree; Global Business Law Colloquium during the residency.Shown separately from the teaching duration.
- Teaching location
- Columbia Law School
Admissions, prerequisites and intakes
- Prior law degree
- Not stated
- Prior degree
- Not stated
- Work experience
- Not stated
- Admission test
- Not stated
- International applicants
- Not confirmed
Intakes and deadlines
- Online Spring Semester starting February 19, 2027 (2027 cohort) · upcoming
Fees
Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.
Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.
Curriculum, assessment and projects
As published by the provider. None of this guarantees employment, admission or professional certification.
- Curriculum
- Online classes meet live about once a week on Zoom for 2-3 hours New York morning time, with recorded lectures and discussion boards.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: price, prerequisites.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 1 November 2026)