Law Schools Worldwide

Juris Doctor and professional law degrees · Standalone law qualification

Juris Doctor (JD)

The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Faculty of Law · Central, Hong Kong

Upcoming intake

Visit Official PageRequest Information
Award
Juris Doctor
Subject
General lawFull time, Part time
Format
On campusFull-time normative 24 months; part-time normative 42 months
Price
Not published

About this program

A postgraduate law degree at CUHK for graduates with non-law first degrees (or non-common-law law degrees), offered full-time and part-time in Central, Hong Kong.

School and department
The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Faculty of LawFaculty of Law
Subject or specialization
General lawRecorded only where the official program page names it as a focus, not for individual modules.
Teaching language
English

Qualification and recognition

Qualification
Juris Doctor and professional law degrees
Purpose
Academic legal studiesAcademic study of law without a stated professional-qualification role.
Exact award
Juris Doctor
Credential type
DegreeA degree awarded by a degree-granting institution.
Academic credit
Credit status not stated
Awarding institution
Not stated on the pages we checked
Access and price model
PaidPaid enrolment.

Professional eligibility must be confirmed with the relevant regulator. Where an official source has been recorded for a jurisdiction, see professional pathways. Academic recognition is not professional recognition.

Structure and schedule

Duration
Full-time normative 24 months; part-time normative 42 months
Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Physical attendance
Regular physical attendance
Schedule
Full time, Part time
Teaching location
CUHK Graduate Law Centre2/F, Bank of America Tower, 12 Harcourt Road, Central

Admissions, prerequisites and intakes

Prior law degree
Not stated
Prior degree
Required
Work experience
Not stated
Admission test
Not stated

Non-law bachelor's degree, or law degree from a non-common-law jurisdiction, normally with at least Second Class honours.

International applicants
The provider states that international students may apply
Language requirements
IELTS 7.5 or TOEFL 100/120 unless the bachelor's degree was taught in English.

Intakes and deadlines

  • 2027-28 intake · deadline 31 January 2027 (first round); 28 February 2027 (second round); 9 April 2027 (final round) · open

Fees

Original currency is authoritative. Each fee keeps its basis (per term, per year, per credit, whole program) and the academic year it applies to and is never converted or added up for you.

Tuition is not published on the pages we checked. That does not mean the program is free: ask the institution for current fees, equipment costs and any deposit or refund terms.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: price.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 1 November 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 1 November 2026)

Suggest a correction